What MUD code base does Ansalon MUD run?

Ansalon runs using the Ansalon 1.5b3
© 1996-2015 David Leverich & Jesse Nelson.
Where we came from?

  • DikuMUD by Hans Staerfeldt, Katja Nyboe, Tom Madsen, Michael Seifert, and Sebastian Hammer.
  • MERC 2.1 code by Hatchet, Furey, and Kahn.
  • ROM 2.3b6 copyright (c) 1993-1998 Russ Taylor.
  • Ansalon 1.5b3 (c) 1996-2015 David Leverich, Jesse Nelson
    Previous: Chris Leary, Scott MacLean, John Patrick, Jason Dotter, David Gathright, Shane Lindstrom and others who left their footprints.

Great inspiration for MUDs came from “Colossal Cave Adventure” and Zork.  See the help files in the games, you’ll note some homage to them in places as well. 

As well as Original MUD and MUD2.

See our CREDITS page for more in depth info.

Posted in: FAQ